A Light to All – Una Luz a todas las naciones

A light to all the people

Posted January 10th, 2012 by the Rev. Thad Bennett

 Where have you found relationships to reflect a sacramental character or an eschatological vision in your life? 

The SCLM’s report asks us to consider these aspects of relationship!  Imagine!!!  Personally, I find that when I am most balanced and open to thinking about my relationship with my spouse, I catch a glimpse of how our relationship evokes that deep sense in me for union.  These is something deep and basic in me that wants to be connected. My spiritual journey was also powered by such a desire and I have found that in Christ God wants to be connected to me/us as well.  In my relationship with my spouse there was a first hint of the complexity and the intensity of what “being one in Christ” might actually be like.  It is both humbling and scary.  How about you?

 The SCLM’s report to General Convention includes a significant section on theology:  Faith, Hope, and Love: Theological Resources for the Blessing of Same-Gender Relationships.  Look at this text of a section from the Report regarding Covenantal Relationship:

 Reflecting theologically on same-gender relationships can become an occasion for the Church to reflect more broadly on the significance of covenantal commitment in the life of faith. Both Scripture and our theological traditions invite us to consider, first, the sacramental character of covenantal relationships; by this we mean the potential of such relationships to become outward and visible signs of God‘s grace. And second, covenantal relationships can both reflect and inspire the eschatological vision of Christian life. The covenantal commitments we make with each other, in other words, can evoke our desire for union with God, which is our final hope in Christ.

 Do these words resonate with you?  Let us know.

 And if you would like to see more on this topic, the task group that worked on this part of the report has a public document from 2011 outlining some of their thoughts about what the church has learned over the centuries as well as over the last 35 years of discussing same-gender relationships.  That one page document (Theological Reflection on Covenantal Relationship: Spiritual Practice for Same-Gender Couples) can be found at https://liturgyandmusic.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/theological-reflection-and-liturgical-principles/

 Una Luz a todas las naciones

Publicado el 10 de enero del 2012 por el Rev. Thad Bennett

 Donde has encontrado relaciones que reflejan un carácter sacramental o una visión escatológica en tu vida?  El informe de la SCLM nos pide que consideremos estos aspectos de una relación!  Imagínense!!! Personalmente, yo encuentro que cuando estoy más balanceado y abierto a pensar en la relación con mi pareja, logro tener una vistazo de como nuestra relación evoca en mi este sentido profundo de unión.   Esto es algo profundo y básico en mi que quiere estar conectado.  Mi peregrinar espiritual está también empoderado por ese deseo y he encontrado que en Cristo, Dios quiere estar conectado conmigo/ con nosotros también.  En mi relación con mi pareja hubo una primera indicación de la complejidad y la intensidad de que puede ser de hecho ” ser uno en Cristo”.  Esto hace que el corazón se haga humilde y a la vez atemoriza. Que tal es para usted?

 El informe de la SCLM a la Convención General incluye un sección significativa de teología: Fe, Esperanza y Amor: Recursos Teológicos para la Bendición de Relaciones del Mismo Género.  Mire este texto de una sección del informe en referencia a la Relación de Convenio:

 Reflexionando teológicamente sobre las relaciones del mismo género, puede convertirse    en una ocasión para que la Iglesia reflexione más ampliamente sobre el significado del        compromiso de convenio en la vida de fe.  Tanto la Escritura como nuestras tradiciones teológicas nos invitan a considera, primero, el carácter sacramental de las relaciones de          convenio; con esto, queremos decir el potencial de que tales relaciones se conviertan a             signos visibles y externos de la gracia de Dios.  y segundo, las relaciones de convenio        pueden tanto reflejar e inspirar la visión escatológica de la vida cristiana.  Los       compromisos de convenio que hacemos unos con nosotros, en otras palabras, pueden    evocar nuestro deseo por la unión con Dios, lo cual es nuestra esperanza final en Cristo.

 Tienen estas palabras resonancia con usted? Déjenos saber.

 Y si usted quiere ver mas información sobre este tema, el grupo de trabajo que laboró en esta parte del informe tiene un documento público desde el 2011 que señala algunos de sus pensamientos acerca de lo que la iglesia ha aprendido a través de los siglos, así como también, de los últimos 35 años de discutir sobre las relaciones del mismo género.  Este documento de una página ( Reflexión Teológica de las Relaciones de Convenio: Practica Espiritual para Parejas del Mismo Género) pueden ser encontrados en https://liturgyandmusic.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/theological-reflection-and-liturgical-principles/

About Thad Bennett
Educational consultant to the SCLM's Blessings Project

2 Responses to A Light to All – Una Luz a todas las naciones

  1. This morning, when I awoke at 4am, I looked west out of my window over the Pacific, as I do each morning. Brightly shining, in the dark sky, was Canis Minor, the star at the top of the Winter Triangle. I greeted it, as I do each day when it is visible. And, as at each new day, I experienced that profound sense of being One with the Universe, of my Life woven into the pattern of Being.

    As I have gotten older (now 65), this sense of union with The All has deepened ….. though I “remember” the longing for it many decades ago; it was, I now know, one of the reasons that I became a monk for 15 years. I tend to the Eastern Orthodox view that everything is “sacramental”. My sense of Being One with all the Universe (or the many Universes!) – symbolized by my Salutation to Canis Minor – defines everything else. And yes, I agree with Thad: my relationship with my husband Dennis has drawn me to the practical work towards Unity-in-Uniqueness. My marriage is an instrument of sacramentality, leading me onward, transforming me. And of course the Eucharist – that startling scandal of Oneness – forms me at every encounter.

    I am aware always both of the “long way yet to go”, and of the wonder of relationship.

    Thanks for the opportunity to reflect!

    (The Rev.) Brian McHugh

  2. Jonathan says:

    The words don’t resonate for me, not because they are untrue but because they are a sophisticated, technical description of a profoundly simple reality. The reality is just so much more than the words can convey.

    I would, however, prefer to talk about the sanctification of the world instead of eschatological vision. I think they’re two ways to talk about the same reality, but sanctification feels more grounded in the present.

    Jonathan, thanks for your comment. Next time please give your first and last name.
    — Ed.

Leave a Reply

